Port Macquarie Sharks take Clayton Cup

Good coach: Matt Shipway.

Good coach: Matt Shipway.

THE Port Macquarie Sharks have been crowned as the best regional team in NSW, receiving the Clayton Cup.

The Cup is awarded to the best performing side in country football.

Matt Shipway's team lost just one match all season, 16-10 to the Wauchope Blues. That came in the last home and away match in the Group 3 season.

The Sharks led 10-0 at the break in that clash.

The Sharks made the most of their opportunities in 2015.

They started their campaign under new coach Shipway with a trial against the National Rugby League's Newcastle Knights.

His cool head was perfect for the Sharks. After the Blues loss, Shipway urged them to concentrate on the bigger prize winning the premiership.

They beat cross-town rivals the Port City Breakers 20-8 in an at times niggly encounter.

The club will look to back to back next season. The Sharks have appointed Joe Cudmore to coach.

He was crowned Group 3 player of the year in 2015.

His uncle, Mick, will take over as club president from Phil Trembath.

Trembath was happy to leave on a high, but he said it wasn't about the accolades.

Trembath was pleased to win a premiership with mostly local players.

With the exception of David Luck and David Geary, all side came through the Sharks' junior ranks.

Trembath said the Sharks' resurgence in the past couple of years was great to be part of.

"A couple of years ago, we were almost on struggle street," he said.

The majority of the Sharks have indicated they will return in 2016.

The last time the club won the Clayton Cup was in 2001.


Discuss "Port Macquarie Sharks take Clayton Cup"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.