Ballot positions drawn for the federal electorate of Lyne

Julia Driscoll
By Julia Driscoll
Updated April 23 2022 - 6:38am, first published April 22 2022 - 4:30am
Present for the ballot draw were Joel Putland (United Australia Party), Alexander Simpson (Labor), Steve Attkins (Independent), and Dr David Gillespie (Nationals). Photo: Julia Driscoll

An independent candidate has drawn the coveted top position in the ballot draw for the federal election in the Lyne electorate.


Julia Driscoll

Julia Driscoll


Julia Driscoll has worked as a journalist for the Wingham Chronicle and Manning River Times for seven years. She values the deep connection with community that being a rural and regional journalist brings. Career highlights have involved environmental stories - bringing the plight of the little known endangered Manning River helmeted turtle to the attention of the public, resulting in wide-spread knowledge in the community and conservation action; and breaking the news of the Manning River ceasing to run for the first time in recorded history.

Get the latest Port Macquarie news in your inbox

Sign up for our newsletter to stay up to date.

We care about the protection of your data. Read our Privacy Policy.