Eight ACT players named in junior Wallabies squad

Eight ACT players have been named in the Australian under-20 squad ahead of the Oceania and World Championships next year.

The national squad, which has been re-branded the Junior Wallabies, will assemble at the AIS on Wednesday as their road to 2018 world championships begin.

The side includes three ACT Brumbies-contracted players in back-rower Rob Valetini, scrumhalf Ryan Longergan and flyhalf Mack Hansen.

Australia will be led by former Queensland Reds assistant Jason Gilmore after taking the reins from Simon Cron who was being considered for the Brumbies top job next season.

The Junior Wallabies have New Zealand, Wales and Japan in Pool A at the world championships.

ACT players selected: Charlie Hancock, Tom Ross, Justin Sikimeti, Rob Valetini, Mack Hansen, Len Ikitau, Isiah Latu and Ryan Lonergan.

This story Eight ACT players named in junior Wallabies squad first appeared on The Sydney Morning Herald.